Free Shipping & Easy Returns | Over 35,000 5-Star Reviews
0

From hilarious mockumentaries to chilling psychological thrillers, there is quite literally something in here for everyone.

| By Antonia Day | Entertainment

23 of the Best Shows to Watch on Disney+ Right Now

From hilarious mockumentaries to chilling psychological thrillers, there is quite literally something in here for everyone.

So, you’ve run out of shows to watch? We feel you. But, while it can often feel like you’ve exhausted every viable option on your streaming services, there will always be a show (or 23) waiting for you to hit play on… you just need to find them!

From hilarious mockumentaries to chilling psychological thrillers, we’ve put together a comprehensive list of shows on Disney+ for you to refer to every time you claim there’s “nothing good to watch”.

So, sit back, read this article, pick something you like the sound of, and never mutter those words again.

1. The Bear

Describing a show as anxiety-inducing might not sound appealing, but this thrilling, ambitious, whip-smart, and comedic series has been described as one of the best new shows of the decade. Most of the series is set in the kitchen of a sandwich shop in Chicago which the protagonist takes over after a heartbreaking death in his family. It’s big hearted, chaotic, funny and crowd-pleasing – enjoy with your partner, your housemates, your bestie or your folks!


2. Andor

This Star Wars prequel stars Diego Luna of Rogue One fame as we follow  his character Cassian Andor as he begins his rebellion journey. For two seasons, Andor will chart the antics of the Rebels as they fight the Empire, leading up to the events of Rogue One and, after that, A New Hope. If you’ve been missing Star Wars since the end of Obi-Wan, Andor might be exactly the show you need.

3. Matildas: the World at Our Feet

Keep the football fever going with this glorious documentary series. Taking you behind the scenes of the team that captured the mood of the nation, this 6-part show gives us a peek into the challenges and triumphs of the Matildas in the lead-up to the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup.

4. Only Murders in the Building

Only Murders in the Building is a comedy-drama which follows three strangers, played by Steve Martin, Martin Short, and Selena Gomez, who share a fascination for true crime. When they discover and wind up finding themselves in one after discovering a horrific murder has occurred in their Upper West Side apartment building, the unlikely trio get on the case. Season 3 welcomes Meryl Streep and Paul Rudd to the fray – we’re obsessed.

5. Ahsoka

Fans of Star Wars will love this series spin-off of Ahsoka. Starring Rosario Dawson as the Jedi knight on a perilous quest, with Australian actor Natasha Liu Bordizzo and Mary Elizabeth Winstead in supporting roles, this show looks like it will be a kickass watch for all – even those who are new to the galaxy far, far away.

6. Scandal

Scandal is an over-the-top and totally obsessive melodrama about political fixer Olivia Pope (Kerry Washington) who heads up a ragtag group of problem solvers… while carrying out an illicit affair with Fitz, also known as the president of the United States. The 2012 thriller  strung out the drama for seven intense seasons – all of them featuring Kerry Washington swathed in neutral-hued cashmere layers and clutching enormous glasses of red wine – until it took its last bow in 2018.

7. This Is Us

This Is Us is a sprawling generational saga about two families and their various children, starring an incredible cast including Mandy Moore, Milo Ventimiglia, Justin Hartley and Sterling K Brown. This Is Us gave us 6 incredible seasons of  true tear-jerking and emotional television, before wrapping up in 2022. Cancel your weekend plans, you won’t be able to switch this one off.

8. The Other Black Girl

Based on Zakiya Dalila Harris’s 2021 best-selling novel of the same name, The Other Black Girl casts Sinclair as Nella Rogers, an editorial assistant at Wagner Books who feels tokenised as the only Black employee at the company. That is until Hazel-May McCall lands a gig there. But Nella’s excitement soon turns to despair as she’s overcome with what can only be described as a heavy dose of the heebie-jeebies.

9. Saint X

Another thriller to watch out for is Saint X, starring Australian Alycia Debnam-Carey as a young woman trying to uncover the mystery of her sister’s death while on a family vacation many years prior. There are several twists and turns in this show, which plays with timelines and memory as the truth of what happened on that island holiday comes to light. Addictive and binge-worthy.

10. Secret Invasion

Secret Invasion has a lot of potential to be your new obsession. For one, there’s the cast, which includes Marvel mainstay Samuel L. Jackson as Nick Fury, as well as the phenomenal Olivia Colman, Emilia Clarke, and Kingsley Ben-Adir. Watch as Fury discovers an invasion on Earth by a faction of shapeshifting Skrulls.

11. American Born Chinese

Loved Everything Everywhere All At Once? Let us introduce you to your new obsession. This series, adapted from the graphic novel of the same name, reunites cast members Michelle Yeoh, Ku Huy Quan, James Hong and Stephanie Hsu in this story of a teenager who befriends the son of a mythological Chinese god. It’s a coming-of-age story with a twist, a fantastic cast and great action from Shang Chi director Destin Daniel Cretton.

12. The Clearing

This exciting Australian drama stars Teresa Palmer, Guy Pearce and Miranda Otto. Based on the bestselling novel by JP Pomare, this series follows a terrifying cult in rural Victoria, one woman who got out, and the secrets she left behind. This is a chilling and compelling show that always leaves you wanting more.

13. Abbott Elementary

Fans of The Office and Modern Family will love this mockumentary comedy on the lives of teachers who work across underfunded schools in America. This workplace comedy focuses on one school in particular, the fictional Willard R. Abbott Elementary, a predominantly black school in Philadelphia, where the teachers are determined to help their students.

14. The World According to Jeff Goldblum

Follow the world’s favourite man Jeff Goldblum as he ‘explores the world’ covering topics people love. Each episode is centred around a different subject, from ice cream, to sneakers, where this delightfully insightful show unravels a world of astonishing connections which inspire and excite.

15. The Mandalorian

We’ve heard the stories of Jango and Boba Fett, now it’s time to uncover the story of another warrior in the Star Wars universe. Set after the fall of the Empire and before the emergence of the First Order, this addictive series stars Pedro Pascal as the lone gunfighter in the outer reaches of the galaxy.

16. Black-ish

Black-ish tells the story of an upper-class black family led by Andre "Dre" Johnson, an advertising executive (Anthony Anderson), and his wife, Rainbow (Tracee Ellis Ross). They have it all. The perfect home, kids, cars, and jobs, but Dre begins to question whether his success has resulted in too much cultural assimilation for him and his family.

17. Ms. Marvel

This new and original addition to the Marvel Universe introduces us to Kamala Khan, a Muslim American teenager growing up in Jersey City. A keen fan-fiction author and avid gamer, to say Kamala is a superhero mega-fan would be an understatement. Watch as she gains the ability to harness cosmic energy, and create hard light constructs from a magical bangle, all while juggling life as a teenager.

18. The Dropout

A tale of ambition and fame gone terribly, terribly wrong. This drama series tells the true story of the  Theranos scandal and its disgraced founder, Elizabeth Holmes. Based on the podcast of the same name by journalist Rebecca Jarvis and starring Amanda Seyfried as Holmes, the show recounts her rise and fall as she deceives many on her mission to create life-changing healthcare technology, while ultimately putting millions of lives at risk.

19. New Girl

After enduring a rough breakup, our favourite awkward gal Jess (Zooey Deschanel) is in need of change, and moves in with three single guys. Forming an unlikely, dysfunctional family, Jess and her new roommates get to know each other's quirks and idiosyncrasies, all while living under the same roof.

20. Dance Moms

Following a group of young girls dancing their way to stardom and their doting mothers who support them along the way, Dance Moms includes a whole lot of heartache, crying, screaming, oh, and dancing. Coached by the notorious Abby Lee Miller, these girls (and their mothers) are under strict orders, as they try to appease Abby's harsh feedback while trying to keep a brave face before heading on stage.

21. The Simpsons

Ah, our favourite family – no, not the Kardashians (although, they are up there). Disney+ has all 34 seasons of The Simpsons available to stream – that’s 750 episodes ready for you to hit play on. Starring Homer, Marge, Bart, Lisa, and Maggie, each episode follows a different storyline that will leave your belly sore from laughing, and your hand ready to hit play on the next episode.

22. Glee

A group of ambitious and theatrical high school students try to escape the harsh realities of high school by joining a ‘glee’ club led by a passionate Spanish teacher. This unsuspecting group of teens work together with their teacher to bring the school’s choir back to life, all while learning to juggle their own issues in and outside of school.

23. A Small Light

This gripping bio-series from Nat Geo follows the life of Miep Gies, the Dutch woman who risked her life to protect Anne Frank’s family for more than two years during World War II. Offering a new angle on the Anne Frank saga, this emotional series delves into the lives of the compassionate individuals who helped the Frank family.

Welcome to Bed Threads

It looks like you’re in Australia. Enjoy…

  • Free shipping Australia-wide
  • Easy returns
  • Plus, subscribe for $15 off your first order

Your Order (0)

Free Standard Shipping
Your cart is currently empty.
Not sure where to start?

You May Also Like

  •  

     
    0 out of 5, from reviews
  •  

     
    0 out of 5, from reviews
  •  

     
    0 out of 5, from reviews
  •  

     
    0 out of 5, from reviews
  •  

     
    0 out of 5, from reviews